Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018

DTC HK T20 Blitz 2018

Hung Hom JD Jaguars clinch Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 title

Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 WinnersHung Hom JD Jaguars won the third edition of the Hong Kong T20 Blitz that was played over six days between February 6 to 11, 2018. Check the Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 results here.

In the final of the T20 Blitz, the Hung Hom JD Jaguars defeated Galaxy Gladiators Lantau in a high-scoring game. They won by six runs to clinch the title.

Batting first, the Jaguars were led to a score of 200 for seven from their 20 overs thanks to Nizakat Khan’s 93 while Johan Botha and Darren Sammy chipped in with cameos towards the end.

For the Gladiators, Kumar Sangakkra chipped in with a 47-ball 76, and was involved in a first wicket stand of 101, but once they lost a wicket, the rest of the batsmen failed to match up to the pressure applied by the likes of Ben Laughlin and Botha.

Nizakat won the man-of-the-match award while Sangakkara was declared the man-of-the-tournament.

Interestingly, in the group game between these two teams, it was the Gladiators who had triumphed and also by six runs!

This was after the domestic players draft was held November 2, 2017, with City Kaitak drawing top selection.

Each team was allowed to retain a few players and the rest went into the HK T20 Blitz Draft. Other overseas players were also signed up by the teams in the lead-up to the third season to form their Blitz squads.

The second edition of the DTC Hong Kong T20 Blitz had attracted players from all over the world and was played between March 8 and 12. The competition lasted five days which meant there was an early morning start on Saturday.

Hong Kong, which was earlier famous for its six-a-side tournament, the Hong Kong Sixes came up with this new competition, the Hong Kong T20 Blitz, in 2016. It kick-started in 2016 with it first edition consisting of four team and getting affected by rain. This second season saw five sides face off with each other in a round-robin-cum final competition.

The third season of the Hong Kong Blitz will also see five sides participate in the tournament. The teams & their squads participating in this third season’s Hong Kong T20 Blitz are: Galaxy Gladiators Lantau, HKI United, City Kaitak, Kowloon Cantons and Hung Hom JD Jaguars.

According to the format of the tournament, a maximum of five overseas are allowed in every squad. What has changed, however, is that unlike the last two seasons, there will be a Draft that will be held to select the five squads. Last season, players were signed up by individual franchises.

The remaining players will need to be Hong Kong-based and that will also help cricket to grow in the country.

Among those who had signed up from overseas to feature in second edition of the competition were Kumar Sangakkara, Misbah-ul-Haq, T Dilshan, Shahid Afridi and Darren Sammy. There are others as well like Sohail Tanvir, Sohail Tanvir, Chris Jordan, Dwayne Smith and Mohammad Hafeez who all played for different HK T20 Blitz franchises.

Local Hong Kong players like Anshuman Rath, Jamie Atkinson, Aizaz Khan, Babar Hayat and Kinchit Shah will also be a part of the tournament like they were in season two.

Matches will be played over six days with two matches each on the first five days of the tournament and the final expected to be a one-off game on the last day. Every side will face the other once in the round-robin phase of the competition which will be followed by the title-decider. Tickets for the Hong Kong T20 Blitz can be bought from here.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment